Celebrate Immigrant Heritage Month!

The start of June marks the start of Immigrant Heritage Month!

From the Immigrant Heritage Month website:

America’s diversity–fueled in great part by immigrants–makes us stronger and more connected as a nation.

Since June of 2014, Immigrant Heritage Month has given people across the United States an opportunity to explore their own heritage and celebrate the shared diversity that forms the unique story of America. This belief fueled the wildly successful 2016 launch of the ‘I Am An Immigrant’ campaign, which encourages all Americans to celebrate the monumental contributions that immigrants have made—and continue to make every day.

Check out the celebrity studded video marking the jump-off of Immigrant Heritage Month:



And on a bit more personal note, my family are not immigrants, but migrants.  My family did not have the struggle with applications, documents, waiting lines, and confusing family and labor relations requirements.  My family is from Puerto Rico.  We are privileged with the mark of United States Citizenship from birth, whether here or on La Isla de Encanta.  But at no time, have I, or my family, have ever forgotten that we enjoy such a privilege.  My family may have experienced similar challenges to immigrants of other eras and today – the language, the hard labor, discrimination in housing, wages and employment, the cultural differences, the profile, the difficult knowledge of being ‘the other‘.  But I have always been proud to be Boriqua, and with that pride is also the knowledge of my privilege, and now, as an immigration attorney, I try to win those privileges for those who do not enjoy them, but also those whose other struggles I’ve heard about at my own family’s dinner table and family events.



Every voice is unique. Every story is powerful. Contribute yours on social media today using the hashtag #IStandWithImmigrants.

Leave a Reply

